Lynn Scott Back In As OCDSB Chair

Another year as Chair of the Ottawa-Carleton District School Board was not in the cards for Lyra Evans.

At its annual organizational meeting on Tuesday, Nov. 14, the OCDSB elected Zone 1, West Carleton-March, Stittsville, Rideau-Jock Trustee Lynn Scott as the Chair of the Board Trustees for 2023-24. Scott served as the Chair for several years until she lost the position to Evans.

The vote was tied 6-6 and was, as per the board’s regulations, settled by cutting a deck of cards with the high card winning.

In remarks following the meeting, Trustee Scott said, “I would like to thank Trustee Lyra Evans for her leadership in the past year. Looking ahead, our Board must work closely together to seek improvements for student learning and well-being, ensure accountability and strengthen public confidence in the OCDSB. With our new strategic plan in place, we need to deliver on our promise to put learning at the forefront, support student and staff wellness, and acknowledge our collective social responsibilities to society.”

Trustee Cathryne Milburn was elected Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees. Milburn is the trustee for Zone 12, Orléans West-Innes, Beacon Hill-Cyrville.

“It is an honour to serve as Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees. I would like to express my appreciation to Trustees Justine Bell and Lynn Scott who served so capably as Vice Chair over the past year.  Across our district, we know too many learning gaps remain. We must be steadfast in our commitment to help students overcome barriers that prevent them from reaching their potential. Every decision we make needs to consider equity, inclusion, and accessibility as core to our mandate as a leading public education institution while being transparent during all our proceedings,” said Trustee Milburn.

Trustees were also elected to various standing, statutory, ad hoc, special purpose, and other committees that have been established, along with trustee representation to other organizations and agencies.

Barrhaven Trustee Donna Blackburn is on the board’s Audit Committee and Ad Hoc Policy Review Committee.