17 Myers AAA Bantam players selected in CCHL

Although the 2020-21 competitive hockey season was limited to practices, scrimmages and workouts within the parameters of Ottawa Public Health’s guidelines, it was a successful one for many players of the Myers AAA Bantam team.

A total of 17 players from the team were selected in the Central Canada Hockey League Bantam Draft held last week. The Myers team is made up of players from Nepean and Kanata, with many on the team coming from Barrhaven.

Forwards Catan Ryan and Henry Mews were selected in the first round, with Ryan going to the Carleton Place Canadians and Mews picked by the Nepean Raiders.

The second round saw five Myers players selected. Forward Liam Calvert was selected by Carleton Place; forward Cole Beaudoin went to Nepean; forward Lucas LeBlanc was selected by the Ottawa Jr. Senators; defenceman Jonathan Laporte was picked by the Pembroke Lumber Kings; and defenceman Griffin Gagnon was chosen by the Renfrew Wolves.

The third round had only one compensatory pick, but the next round had another four Myers players selected.

Forward Thomas Dickey was selected by Carleton Place; forward William Nicholl was picked by the Ottawa Jr. Senators; forward Miller Kay was drafted by Renfrew; and forward Liam Monahan went to the Rockland Nationals.

Three Myers defencemen were fifth round selections. David Huang was selected by Carleton Place; Robert Steenbakkers was chosen by Renfrew; and Jack Paquette went to the Smiths Falls Bears.

In the seventh round, Myers defenceman Tyler Bell went to the Nepean Raiders while the Ottawa Jr. Senators chose Myers goalie David Egorov.

The Rockland Nationals selected Myers forward Ben Watzenboeck in the ninth round.